Some Days Are Just So Darn Black (with Power Shortage)

There are days when I hate KESC, Karachi’s monopolizing electric supply agency. And then there are days when I totally wish we’d have someone buy them and set things straight. Wait, I think that did happen some time back.

Even with its new anti-theft campaign bleeping in every ten-minutes, it looks like KESC just isn’t getting the money it needs. That, or maybe it’s they’ve gotten used to knocking people around just for fun. Yes, this is a rant.

Like most Monday’s yesterday was one of the busiest ones I had in front of my monitor. I had to watch and write “Percy Jackson & the Olympians” for iMAGES, compile results for Trailer-Ratings – my new project, design elements and short-cuts for Liz (our animated gal at Trailer-Ratings) and do some stuff for the family.

Needless to say, KESC sniffed out my plan and kicked in big-time. Apart from unofficial, yet scheduled one-hour long power breaks at 9 AM, 4 PM and 8 PM, the lights went out at 12 to 1:30 PM and again between 4 to 6:30 PM. There goes my day.

That’s 6 hours of power cuts within 12 hours. My backups run only for so-long.

With Trailer-Ratings coming out before Summer, our peak season for official electrical shortage, I think I have buy a mega-generator to keep things running (and drown most of our savings in one big swoop) or maybe switch to Solar-Power.

Leave a Reply

