Early Morning Broadcasts, Or Getting Up Early to See Kamran Jawaid

Ok, so things have been better, this year, so far. In fact they’re better than last year.There is a feeling of upward spiral in my gut.

Starting this month, I’ve begun to appear regularly (Tuesday, Wednesday and Thrusday) on Bakhabar Savera (BKS for short) as their Media Analyst. Don’t be confused if I’m labeled as MKJ. MKJ is short for Mohammad Kamran Jawaid. Five shows have aired till now.

BKS is a pretty popular morning show hosted by Sana Tariq and produced by Syed Kashif Abidi on ARY One World, and up until now it was pretty serious for an early morning show, a fact which had something to do with past demons – but I won’t go into that right now. Let’s just say that early mornings will be a tad more fun now, especially with mild face-off’s between Sana and me (our rifts come naturally and have little to do with planned programming).

To tell you the truth, I’m pretty scared about being in front of the camera. No, make that used to be. The first three-four shows were pretty lame from my end, but that’s just my opinion.

Sana and Kashif Abidi (and the wacky production team) has been very supportive and I’ve had good feedback so far, so that negates my opinion somewhat. Even if I feel secure at the back of the camera, than in front.

Segments from my shows will be put up officially on YouTube soon.

Starting this week, I’ll update the blog every Sunday, with news from the show and other bits of relevant info.

57 thoughts on “Early Morning Broadcasts, Or Getting Up Early to See Kamran Jawaid”

  1. First off I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Thank you!

    1. Almost every writer has this problem. It depends on a lot of factors: how the material/idea connects to you; what is your frame of mind at that exact moment; are you feeling “in the mood”. Sometimes I find myself writing within minutes. Sometimes it takes a while to find the right clincher. The best bet is to close your eyes, think about any inspiration (as in the case of my reviews, I think about a particular scene) and start writing. And once you complete, don’t forget to edit. Chances are 50% of the time you’ll end up revising your opening. Don’t get tied down to words, simply because you wrote them down. Revise, revise, revise. Read paragraphs out aloud, and see if they sound alright. You’ll end up with a good piece, I am sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

